The Free Geek

Ramblings of a Free Software Geek

Late news, but good news! Wed, 31 May 2006 22:16:08 +0000

Filed under: SoC — Bon Goose @ 22:16:08

I was really disheartened a week back when a very good friend of mine was not selected for Google Summer of Code 2006. It was not because his application was not good or something like that. It was mainly because the project which he chose was granted only one slot and thus he was left out even if he was #2 in the ranking.

I for one felt pretty bad about this, but he took it in his stride and started working on the project anyway. He also made very good progress in the last few days or so, which is particularly awesome. There are people who got USD 4500 from Google last year by writing just 250 lines of code and there he was, hacking away even after being officially disqualified.

Now the good news! The guy who was granted the slot before him was disqualified in the last moment for some reasons and now my friend is in! W00t! Thanks to his mentor, the mentoring organisation and Google for this. The deserving candidate got the scholarship. Way to go Prashanth, I wish you all the best! 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Late news, but good news!”

  1. venkat Says:

    Cool dude! all the best..u shall make it 🙂

  2. […] Ghose blogged about this on his blog.Technorati Tags: Google, Summe of code […]

  3. madcap Says:

    About the offline update tool, please dont get mad ar me cuz I’m not a programmer and maybe I’m not reading this right at the wiki. But what I do is… instead of updating everything again… I copy the contents of /var/cache/apt… So basically if you cut a cd with the new pkgs and then copy those in the other computer… and then run an apt-get update/dist-upgrade/install xyz … it works for me… It even works in PCLOS… which is an RPM-based distro. Is the tool only gonna automate the process which I do manually?


Comments are closed.