The Free Geek

Ramblings of a Free Software Geek

Got accepted into Google Summer of Code ’06 Thu, 25 May 2006 14:01:22 +0000

Filed under: SoC — Bon Goose @ 14:01:22

Well, I don't know if it's much of an achievement yet, but hey, my proposal for Google Summer of Code 2006 has been accepted. W00t! I am very much excited about my project, which is an Offline Update tool for Ubuntu. This will solve a lot of issues for people in places without any internet connection. I am especially happy about a few of my friends who always used to crib about this issue. I have informed them about this and they were extremely happy to hear this 🙂

I had submitted proposals for a few other projects too, and I was very interested in one particular project for BBC Research, which unfortunately didn't get selected due to lack of enough slots. May be I will work on that sometime later.

I have also made a few observations regarding the application process … and I am planning to write an article on “How to apply successfully for Google SoC''. I hope the article will be of help to students next year.

My mentor for this project is Martin Pitt, who IMO is an awesome guy. This summer is going to be real fun! I am going to start working on the design from next week. I will need to consult Michael Vogt for tips & ideas regarding this.

More to come later …

 

4 Responses to “Got accepted into Google Summer of Code ’06”

  1. Barkha Says:

    Cool! Congrats!
    /me waits for the article 🙂

  2. JaneW Says:

    hey G0SUB, congrats and welcome aboard.

    Please do write you article, it would be very helpful and I am sure it will be published widely!

    All the best with your project.

    JaneW

  3. digen Says:

    Congrats dude ..way to go ! 🙂

  4. Sucharita Says:

    hey shonu,
    i knew you would make it to Google summer of code.
    here’s wishing you all the very best for your project.
    Good luck !
    sucharita


Comments are closed.