The Free Geek

Ramblings of a Free Software Geek

A first look at ayttm Fri, 25 Nov 2005 19:35:08 +0000

Filed under: Free Software,GNU/Linux,Open Source Software,Programming — Bon Goose @ 19:35:08

I have never used ayttm myself, but I know Philip S. Tellis, its primary author quite well. It appears that the project is in a great need of active developers as Philip is quite busy with his work and others are I guess absconding. For those who don't know what ayttm is, it's a multi-protocol and cross platform messaging client, a bit like GAIM. ayttm is quite novel in its own right as it seems to support Yahoo! Messenger webcams, though I haven't tested it myself. There are a few nagging issues wrt ayttm at the moment like the GUI is still using GTk+ 1.x while the whole world has moved to GTk+ 2.6.x upwards. So I thought it was worthwhile to check it out and see if I could help in some way. I checked out the source from the CVS repo and tried building it. And I hit a bug straightaway. There was this small bug which would cause an error when compiled with gcc 4.x. So I whipped up a small patch to fix it and submitted it to the list. And no, it was not a one-liner (it was a two-liner ;)). I just checked that the patch was committed by Philip. Cool! I guess I have to devote some time hacking ayttm after my freakin' exams are over. And yes, if you are a C programmer, and want to contribute to Free Software, ayytm needs you. Join the lists today!

